Venison Stroganoff

Started out by cutting a venison tenderloin in small cubes. I marinated the meat in soy sauce, Worcestershire, garlic, salt, pepper, and a smidge of cajun. 

Ideally I would have made this in a cast iron skillet but this is the pan I have! I heated a few tablespoons of butter and a drizzle of olive oil. I dried off the meat and tossed it in flour before dropping it in the hot pan. After the meat started to brown I added a couple cups of roughly chopped mushrooms and large pieces of diced onions. Once the meat was cooked through I added a cup of beef broth and stirred while simmering on low.

The store was out of egg noodles… who knows how that happens, but I decided to go with some rigatoni pasta as an alternative.

Would have been more delicious with egg noodles, but it was still tasty!

Comments on: "Venison Stroganoff" (6)

  1. 🙂 Very nice!

  2. I’ve never eaten Venison. Where can you even get it around here?

  3. There are so few recipes available for venison and this looks like a great adaptation. The long slow cooking probably helps because venison is so lean that it can dry out easily. Bravo to cooking outside the lines!

  4. Carin Scholtz said:

    All I would add is a little bit of sour cream!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

