Scallop Watercress Ravioli

I’ve had some less than pleasant experiences with scallops and home made ravioli is quite intimidating, but I decided it was finally time to conquer my fears. I thought about making a basic cheese and spinach filling but went with scallops and watercress instead.

I started out by melting a couple tablespoons of butter. After thoroughly washing and drying the scallops the butter had nearly burned. Instead of throwing it out I just cooked the scallops in browned butter on low as to not actually burn the butter. It actually added great flavor to the scallops.

After the scallops were almost cooked through but not quite I chopped them into tiny pieces and poured the drippings from the pan and the scallop bits into a bowl with about a cup of finely chopped watercress. Doing it in this order gave the watercress time to soften from the heat of the scallops and drippings while I made the pasta dough.

The pasta dough was Alton Browns recipe …

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

I used a food processor and finished it by kneading it a little into a flattened ball.

It was not easy to roll out but once it was I used a small glass to cut about 30 circles. The instructions for the dough said to make it paper thin, mine was closer to card stock or thin cardboard, but it cooked just fine. For the filling I added a cup of ricotta and a couple tablespoons of cream cheese and processed it until it was smooth. I put a very small spoonful of filling in the center of each circle and then pinched them shut. After that I used a fork to create a seal, pressing gently from the outside to the inside pushing the filling back towards the center. Keeping the ravioli sealed is crucial or the filling with seep out when you boil them.

For the sauce I sauteed some mushrooms and shallots in butter and olive oil and then added a can of diced tomatoes. I pureed this mixture and added a cup of heavy cream and simmered until it had reduced and no longer had a raw tomato taste.

A common problem with home made ravioli is that the outside cooks faster than the inside and sometimes the dough become mushy. To avoid this problem I heated olive oil and garlic while they were boiling and once they floated to the top I fried each one for just a couple minutes. I put some sauce on the plate, then some ravioli, and then more sauce.

They were delicious! Watch for a post soon about leftovers.

Comments on: "Scallop Watercress Ravioli" (3)

  1. I waaaaaant some right now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. It was delicious! And I dont even like seafood! Great job Anna!

  3. I can’t wait until you post the leftovers recipe! Also a great breakfast/early lunch food!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

