Stuffed Bell Peppers

I made the filling for the stuffed peppers out of 1/4 of rice cooked with about 3/4 cups of water, a couple cups of chopped kale, half of an onion, and a quarter pound of ground sirloin (90/10). I cooked the meat, kale, and onion on low with olive oil, powdered garlic, just a shake of seasoning salt, and a tsp of crushed red pepper flakes for about 20 minutes while the rice was cooking.

I added a can of beans in tomato sauce, the mostly cooked rice, and a few tablespoons of tomato sauce. I left it to simmer while I cleaned out the peppers.

I had two bell peppers and one poblano. I cut the poblano in half and “flame roasted” it on my stove for just a couple minutes.

In a glass baking dish I set the peppers in the bottom, poured the meat and kale over top, and poured tomato sauce on top of that. I covered them with aluminum foil and baked for 25 minutes at 425.

They were really great with a very savory hearty flavor, but still fairly healthy!

For more info on Kale http://www.nutritiondata.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/2462/2

Comments on: "Stuffed Bell Peppers" (5)

  1. This looks amaaaazing. I’m making it this weekend!

  2. anna. you really should feed me some day.

  3. Neil Diamond said:

    So good, so good, so good

  4. yummm looks so good! wish i was around for that one!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

