I started out with a half a pound of ground moose meat, then added a cup of cubed eggplant, half an onion diced, a tablespoon of fresh parsley and sage, a teaspoon of brown sugar, garlic, and chili garlic hot sauce.

After the meat was browned I added a couple cups of crushed tomatoes, a tablespoon of tomato paste, and let it simmer for 15 minutes on low.

While the moose sauce was simmering I boiled a couple cups of rotini noodles, drained them, then added a half a cup of finely chopped gouda, a tablespoon of butter, and a 1/4 cup of milk, simmered it on low for just a minute while stirring.

Comments on: "Moose Marinara With Cheesy Rotini" (6)

  1. Awesome presentation. Can you come to camp and cook for us??? 🙂

  2. How does the flavor of ground moose compare to ground beef? Is it a stronger flavor? I look forward to your recipes to see what unique ingredients you are using.

  3. I’ve never had moose before, but you know how I feel about cheesy noodles!!!! It looks very pretty!

    • Lynnette said:

      Sounds delicious! I too am curious about the taste of moose meat. Is it like venison?

      • It is similar. It’s really hard to describe the difference. I would say it has a little lighter flavor than venison, but it’s really just different. If you prepared it the same my guess is it would taste almost the same.

  4. Carin Scholtz said:

    Interesting combination of spices, I suppose you could substitute the moose with beef?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

