Lobster Chili

While a 2.5 pound lobster was boiling away I chopped up a few handfuls of mushrooms, 2 jalapenos, 1 poblano pepper, 1 Anaheim pepper, a large white onion, and 3 slices of thick smoked bacon. Then sauteed them with a generous pour of olive oil. In a crock pot on high I added 2 cups of crushed tomatoes, 1 can of butter beans, 1 can of cannellini beans, and a can of pinto beans. I let both of these pots simmer while I deconstructed the lobster.

I added the legs to the peppers as well as a few cups of chicken stock. I let this simmer for about 15 minutes.

For the corn bread I chopped up a couple roasted jalapenos, a good chunk of gouda, and a handful of flat-leaf Italian parsley. Then I added an egg, a 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan, and a drizzle of olive oil and honey. Last I added half a cup of cornmeal and a half a cup of flour. After a quick mix I poured the batter into a cake pan and baked at 375 for about 20 minutes.

While the cornbread was baking I took the lobster legs out of the pepper mixture and poured it into the beans and tomatoes. I pureed a cup of the mixture to add thickness to the chili. Then added the lobster meat which I shredded into bite sized pieces. I let the finished chili cook for about 30 minutes in the crock pot and then couldn’t wait any longer to eat it.

I added about a cup of crab meat and another can of pinto beans to the leftovers and made GREAT nachos the next day.

Comments on: "Lobster Chili" (2)

  1. John Wilson said:

    This looks absolutely scrumcious. Any idea where I can get an anaheim pepper in Wisconsin? I’d like to give this one a try!!!

    • I’m not sure about where you could get an Anaheim pepper in Wisconsin. It’s a mild spicy yellow pepper. They would be by the bell peppers if the store has them. You could use an extra jalapeno and add a yellow bell pepper to even out the spice.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

