Belizean Vegetables

Well, I’m sorry about the delay between posts. I’ve been in Belize! But I learned some fun new things in the kitchen. This dish is not a traditional Belizean breakfast but a breakfast using Belizean cooking staples.

I started out by making some simple coconut rice. I used a cup of plain white rice, 1 cup of water, and 1 cup of coconut milk. I brought it to a simmer then covered it and continued to simmer for about 20 minutes. Then I turned off the heat and left it covered for about 5 minutes.

I diced an onion, a jalapeno, a Peruvian yellow chili pepper (not typical in Belize but on sale at the store), half a sweet potato (to replace coco (taro root), a stalk of celery, a carrot, a chayote squash (known in Belize as a chocho http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chayote), a handful of cilantro (stems and all finely chopped), and sliced about 2 tablespoons of ginger into thin circles.

I sauteed the carrots, onions, and sweet potato first because they took the longest to cook. Once the onions were transparent I added the celery, chayote, peppers, and cilantro, a splash of white wine, and a teaspoon of powdered chicken stock. I cooked it on low until the liquid had reduced and the vegetables were slightly caramelized.

While the vegetables were cooking I fried an egg to top the dish.

I served it layered with rice first, then vegetables, then the fried egg. I topped  it with a little salt, pepper, and Belizean hot sauce.

Comments on: "Belizean Vegetables" (2)

  1. YUMMO!!!

  2. Beautiful pictures! Amazingily delicious! What more could you ask for? 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

