Cauliflower Polenta Cakes

The polenta cake started out with steamed cauliflower.

While the cauliflower was cooling I mixed some bean sprouts, diced eggplant, onion, green onions, a little red curry paste, some lemon juice, and a little black pepper & olive oil.

I used a hand mixer to blend the veggies and cauliflower into a rough mash. It was a little messy, I would recommend using a food processor and pulsing it.

I added one egg, about a cup of corn meal, a 1/2 cup of brie, a 1/4 of grated cheddar, and a few more tablespoons of olive oil to the mash and mixed until it was thoroughly combined. I formed the polenta mixture into little cakes and baked them at 450 for about 40 minutes. I tried to flip them but they stuck to the pan pretty bad so I just left them and they turned out fine. Crunchy on the bottom and a little less so on top, but good.

I marinated the chicken in a couple cups of red wine, a tablespoon of soy sauce, a few tablespoons of crushed red pepper, a teaspoon of onion powder, and a teaspoon of garlic powder. Then I grilled it for about 5 minutes on each side until the thickest part of the chicken was at 160 degrees.

The eggplant I cut into 1/4 inch slices and drizzled with olive oil then sprinkled with paprika, lemon pepper, and seasoning salt. I grilled it for about 3 minutes on each side.

Then I sauteed some onions in a little butter.

After a few minutes I added a cup of red wine to the onions and simmered it on low for about 10 minutes. Then I added a cup of water, a tablespoon of chicken bouillon, and a tablespoon of corn starch. I stirred it while it simmered for about ten minutes until it had thickened and was clear.

It turned out great!

Comments on: "Cauliflower Polenta Cakes" (1)

  1. Nice presentation. It is making me hungry. Wish I could push a button and the meal would appear on my table. I hope you will make it for me sometime. Pleaseeeee!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

