Belizean Stew

This isn’t quite a stew but I couldn’t think of a more appropriate title. I served it with coconut rice (rice cooked with half coconut milk/half water).

First I got the rice cooking. I followed basic rice directions 1 cup of rice to 2 cups of liquid, but I used half coconut milk and half water. I brought it to a simmer uncovered, then covered it and let it continue to simmer for about 20 minutes. Then I turned it off and let it sit while I finished the rest of the meal.

For the veggies I started out with some carrots, celery, sweet potato, cho cho (reference belizean breakfast post to learn more about the cho cho) a little olive oil, and some spices. The spices I used were a mix of lemon pepper, seasoning salt, cajun, and paprika. While these vegetables were cooking I put a bunch of asparagus on a baking sheet and drizzled it with olive oil. I put a pound of shrimp on the same baking sheet (arranged it around the asparagus) and sprinkled everything with hot sauce and lemon juice. I baked that at 400 for about 20 minutes. The baking time depends on how big the shrimp are and how thick the asparagus is. You may have to cook them separately if they don’t seem to be of similar size.

After cooking the more dense veggies I added a good handful of fresh chopped cilantro (stems and all-cut them into very thin rings like chives) and half of a red onion. I sauteed that for about 10  minutes and then added 2 cups of chicken stock.

I poured the remaining coconut milk (leftover from the coconut rice) into the stew and let it simmer for just a few minutes. I served it over coconut rice and topped it with the asparagus and shrimp. It was spicy but the coconut rice balanced it out. There were a lot of unique flavors in each bite.

Comments on: "Belizean Stew" (5)

  1. Alicia McKenzie said:

    Come cook for me……

  2. Carin Scholtz said:

    Loved the combination of spicy stew with coconut rice.

  3. Marianne said:

    This recipe I have to try

  4. Marianne said:

    How much cajun spice did you use? How would you rate the spicy factor? Medium or hot?

    • I used about a tablespoon of cajun, but a drop of hot sauce per shrimp was pretty spicy. When you make it I suggest using just a tablespoon of cajun and adding hot sauce after you taste it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

