Spicy Vegetable Marinara

This is an interesting twist on spaghetti and marinara. I used spaghetti squash and made the marinara out of mostly vegetables.

Spaghetti squash can be baked for about an hour, or halved and microwaved covered for about 10 minutes. I haven’t noticed a difference in the texture or flavor so I tend to microwave it. For the base of my marinara I diced a yellow onion, a medium sized yam (not a sweet potato), and a couple large carrots. I sauteed these with olive oil, a tablespoon of brown sugar, a teaspoon of fresh garlic, a tablespoon of crushed red pepper, a sprinkle of rosemary, thyme, oregano, and a small pinch of paprika. Don’t get too close during this stage, the red pepper and hot olive oil gives off some intense heat that can burn your eyes or take your breath away.

After about 5 minutes I added a couple cups of zucchini and yellow squash (cut into 1/2″ slices, then quartered). I sauteed that for about 5 minutes and then added 2 cups of crushed tomatoes. I pureed half of this mixture and then simmered it for about 5 more minutes.

I used a pair of tongs and a fork to pull the spaghetti squash out of it’s skin. I put a good sized portion on a plate, then drizzled it with olive oil, then topped it with the sauce.

It was warm, hearty, healthy, and spicy.

Comments on: "Spicy Vegetable Marinara" (1)

  1. This looks yummy. I like the fact that it is healthy and yet looks like it is so flavorful.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

