Orange Chicken

I began this dish with some brown rice. Brown rice takes longer to cook than white rice does so it’s important to start the rice before doing anything with the veggies. While the rice was cooking I cleaned and chopped some carrots, green beans, mushrooms, broccoli, baby bok choy, and chives. I had two chicken breasts and seasoned them lightly with salt, pepper, and garlic. Then I squeezed a couple oranges worth of juice on them, added about a tablespoon of orange zest, and a tablespoon of Sriracha hot sauce. I used a fork to get the spices/juice/and zest into the chicken. I cooked the chicken first on medium high with a tablespoon of olive oil. Once they were evenly browned on both sides I took the chicken out and cut it into large pieces. In the same pan I sauteed the carrots, green beans, mushrooms, and chives. While those were sauteing I mixed the chicken with a half a cup of flour. At this point I mixed everything (except the rice) together in the pan and squeezed about 6 oranges worth of juice into it. The orange juice mixed with the flour to create a sauce. I brought this to a simmer (stirring continually) and then served it over the brown rice. It was very fresh and spicy.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

