Surf & Turf

First of all, good luck finding elk or squid ink! My dad sent me some elk steaks and my sister brought me back some squid ink sauce from Japan.

I started with four 1/2 inch elk steaks. I seasoned them with cajun, seasoning salt, garlic, coriander, black pepper, and a few shakes of Marie Sharps habanero pepper sauce.

I cooked the steak for about 6 minutes on medium high heat in my cast iron grill pan with a little olive oil and vegetable oil in the bottom of the pan. Then I flipped them over and baked them at 375 for about 10 minutes. I would cook them lower and slower next time but they were still great this way.

This picture is the pasta sauce. The only English on the package is “Pasta Sauce Squid Ink”. If there were instructions I couldn’t read them. I boiled a few handfuls of spaghetti for about 7  minutes.

I added the sauce to the spaghetti and cooked it on low for just a couple minutes while stirring the sauce in. The sauce had a scallop like flavor with a hint of seaweed. It was  salty and savory.

I served the steak thinly sliced over top of the pasta. It was a great combination of unique flavors with a familiar feel. Word of warning!!! Don’t eat this pasta on a date! It turns your mouth and lips a deep purple but it is entirely worth it.

Comments on: "Surf & Turf" (1)

  1. 5 stars! That was a good meal and I loved how it made all our teeth black! (Temporarily)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

