Monterey Magic

Wow!!! It’s hard to believe it’s been over a month since I’ve posted something. I am having a blast working for SpringLoaf Catering and Event Planning but I haven’t had any time at all to cook… such a bummer! I went to visit my dear friend Kyle in Monterey last weekend and finally found the time to make us a decent meal!

I started with some chicken, mrs. dash, olive oil, sriracha, honey, and garlic.

The picture above shows just about how much stuff I put on the chicken. I was quite generous with the sriracha, if you don’t love spicy food take it a little easier. I wrapped the chicken in aluminum foil and set it in a baking dish. I baked it for about 40 minutes at 375. If you’re unsure, use a meat thermometer and wait until it’s 165.

While the chicken was baking I sauteed a cup of pancetta with a bunch of asparagus with a 1/2 cup of chopped basil and a few tablespoons of olive oil.

After about 7 minutes I added a couple cups of quartered artichoke hearts, a cup of frozen peas, a few cloves of crushed garlic, and a teaspoon of lemon zest. I sauteed that for about 4 minutes while the spinach fettuccine noodles boiled. Once the noodles were al dente I hastily drained them and threw them in with the vegetables. In a separate bowl I mixed 6 egg yolks and 1/2 cup of half and half. Right before serving the pasta I poured this over it and tossed it quickly. The noodles and vegetables warmed the sauce without cooking the yolks.

I didn’t do anything fancy with the plating, just heaped a pile of pasta onto a plate, topped it with some shaved parmesan, and set the chicken next to it. It was soooo good. The spicy chicken went great with the veggie loaded pasta.

Comments on: "Monterey Magic" (2)

  1. Your Momma said:

    It looks mega marvedeliciouso… as usual

  2. Ken Dickson said:

    Looks great! What is pancetta???

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

