Artichoke Soup

Before you try this one at home make sure you have gloves and lemon on hand. Rubbing the artichoke with lemon while you’re breaking it down will stop it from turning black.

I started by chopping the top third off of the artichoke, trimming the sharp ends off the outside leaves, and cut the bottom so it would sit flat. I boiled the artichoke in a mixture of water, lemon juice, salt, garlic and flour. Once it was tender I pulled the inside out and set both parts aside for later.

Then I blanched some yams and carrots before sauteeing them with butter and garlic. I set them aside while I sauteed rainbow chard with caramelized onions,  garlic and crushed red pepper until the chard was bright green and tender. I pureed the chard, onions, yams, carrots and artichoke insides with fresh lemon slices, cumin and salt while slowly adding chicken stock until it was a smooth creamy consistency.


I served the pureed artichoke soup hot in the artichoke “bowl” with a caramelized onion and herb garnish and toasted garlic bread. It was a mild savory but bright smooth vegetable soup.

Comments on: "Artichoke Soup" (2)

  1. The presentation is absolutely beautiful and oh how I wish I could taste that soup! Keep up the great work. You are a food artiste!

  2. That should be on the cover of Saveur.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

